Arizona Health Care Professional DUI

A celebration at a bar with friends may sound like a great night out but it can quickly spiral into an extremely stressful and exhausting experience if you get slapped with a drunk driving arrest because you made a poor decision to get behind the wheel while under the influence. Driving while under the influence can lead to some serious repercussions such as fines, license suspensions and even jail time. For medical professionals, however, the repercussions could cost you your career.

Many health care professionals believe that a DUI will not affect their medical license because it relates to conduct outside of their professional practice, but the reality is that their licensing Board does care about what happens when you are a doctor, nurse, or other medical professional ‘off-duty.’

All health care professionals are required to report any drunk driving charge to their Board within ten (10) business days after the date of the charge. By being proactive, you can mitigate the collateral damage caused by a misdemeanor DUI conviction. The notification must be a written report and it must paint the incident and the medical professional’s background in the best possible light. Once the Board has received this written report, they are required to open an investigation which will include an in-person interview with a trained investigator for the Board’s investigation department.

Holding a health care license exposes you to an increased risk of negative collateral consequences in comparison to the other drivers on the road, however if you are a licensed medical professional and charged with a DUI, it is crucial to take the necessary steps to minimize any potential disciplinary action from the Board. Disciplinary sanctions may be imposed against you if you are convicted the penalties may fine, community service, probation or even a suspension or loss of your medical license.

If you are a medical professional charged with a DUI, it is essential that you hire an experienced attorney who can help you understand your case, your rights, and help you protect your future and your medical career.

Arizona Board of Dispensing Opticians DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona dispensing optician who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Dispensing Opticians (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every dispensing optician should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Dispensing Opticians contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Board of Podiatry Examiners DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona podiatrist who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Podiatry Examiners (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every podiatrist should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Podiatry Examiners contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Acupuncture Board of Examiners DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona acupuncturist who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Acupuncture Board of Examiners (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every acupuncturist should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Acupuncture Board of Examiners contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Board of Athletic Training DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona athletic trainer who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Naturopathic Physicians Medical Board (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every athletic trainer should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Athletic Training contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Naturopathic Physicians Medical Board DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona naturopathic physician who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Naturopathic Physicians Medical Board (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every naturopathic physician should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Naturopathic Physicians Medical Board contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona occupational therapy professional who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every occupational therapy professional should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Medical Radiologic Technology Board DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona medical radiologic technology professional who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Medical Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every medical radiologic technology professional should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Medical Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Board of Psychologist Examiners DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona psychologist who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Psychologists Examiners (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every psychologist should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Psychologists Examiners contact Attorney Robert Chelle.

Arizona Board of Optometry DUI

Image by Newbirth35

An Arizona optometry professional who is charged with a DUI not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Board of Optometry (“Board”) as well.  Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review.    Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days will result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action.  Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction.  This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to a licensing board:

Q: If you have been charged with a DUI, what is the best way to inform your Board?
A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

Q: What happens once I report the charge to the Board?
A: The Board will initiate an investigation and you will eventually have to go in front of the Board.

Q: What will the investigator look at?
A: Many things:

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is an offense that every optometry professional should take seriously.  The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately.  Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with a DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Board of Optometry contact Attorney Robert Chelle.