The Arizona Board of Physical Therapy (“Board”) requires that in order to renew a physical therapist (“licensee”) license the licensee must complete 20 contact hours of continuing competence during each 2 year licensure period. The Board holds that the licensure period initiates on September 1 of even-numbered years and finishes on August 31st of the following even-numbered year.
A licensee who fails to complete 20 hours of continuing education units within the specified period is subject to discipline and penalties. However, the Board shall give the licensee 6 months to satisfy the continuing competence requirements.
The Board will send the physical therapist a Notice of Noncompliance if the licensee has either failed to complete 20 hours, lied about completing 20 hours or completed continuing education units that the Board did not accept as valid. The Board issues very specific guideline as to what constitutes a valid continuing education unit, so make certain that the units you are completing satisfy the Board.
No physical therapist ever wants to open up their license to an investigation, so be careful and complete your continuing competence requirements on time.
If you have a question about continuing education requirements for the Arizona Board of Physical Therapy contact Attorney Robert Chelle.